Fiber starters – The textile cycle lock

“Cycle theft is a widespread criminal activity,” Ulrich Syberg, President of the German Cyclists’ Association (Allgemeiner Deutscher Fahrrad-Club – ADFC) was quoted as saying in the German newspaper ‘Die Welt’ . He seems not to be exaggerating. Every year in Germany, instead of disappearing into the distance down a leafy cycle path, some 300,000 bicycles suffer a rather different fate and just disappear! A start-up company in Leipzig is, therefore, hoping to be the scourge of despairing thieves in future with their cycle lock made of fibres.

In Berlin alone, 88 bicycles are reported missing every day. No wonder that experts recommend investing five to ten percent of the cost of a bicycle in a good quality lock. The choice is generally between frame, cable or shackle lock; many bikes end up with a flat-link chain. “Cycle locks like that are often felt to be cumbersome and heavy,” says Alexandra Baum, who, together with two fellow strugglers, is, therefore, looking to provide a textile cycle lock as a lightweight flexible alternative.

High performance fibre rope: founders Katja Käseberg, Alexandra Baum and Suse Brand (left to right) are not trying to reinvent the (bicycle) wheel – but they are reinventing its lock. (Source: Texlock)

High performance fibre rope: founders Katja Käseberg, Alexandra Baum and Suse Brand (left to right) are not trying to reinvent the (bicycle) wheel – but they are reinventing its lock. (Source: Texlock)

At first sight, their lock, called the ‘Texlock’, looks just like a normal rope that you can buy in any retail shop, and which could easily be severed with a pair of scissors and a little effort. Yet this impression is deceptive. The system, which has been registered for a worldwide patent, consists of a multi-layered braid of various high-performance fibres – and it proves once again: there’s strength in numbers! Each layer fulfils a specific function. Whilst the outer layer is simply there for visual effect, a second acts as protection against cutting with bolt croppers or other implements the thief might have; a third layer gives it mechanical and structural strength and a further layer is there to ensure its resistance to heat.

After around two years of development work, the prototype has been ready from the middle of this year – and immediately received a nomination for the ‘futureSAX‘ Idea Competition, the innovations platform for the State of Saxony. The three pioneers in this start-up company are currently testing and optimising the textile security rope and its lock. A crowdfunding campaign at the beginning of 2017 is hoped to provide the ‘petty cash’ required for the market launch. And then we shall soon be able to see it for ourselves: ‘Fibres versus thieves  – Round One. Fight!’

+++

Home news: under the new heading ‘Fiber starters‘ we shall, in future, be introducing companies, people and interesting pieces of news from start-ups on the textile scene. Everyone has now heard of ‘Silicon Valley‘  – but ‘Fiber Valley’ is not yet so well known.

Ronny Eckert

About Ronny Eckert

Mehr zu den Autoren

View all posts by Ronny Eckert

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Faserstarter: Das textile Fahrradschloss

„Radklau ist ein Massendelikt“, ließ sich Ulrich Syberg, Vorsitzender des Allgemeinen Deutschen Fahrrad-Clubs, in der „Welt“ zitieren. Er scheint nicht zu übertreiben: In Deutschland erleiden jährlich über 300.000 Fahrräder den Schicksalssprung vom Radweg hin zu „Rad weg!“. Ein Start-up aus Leipzig will Diebe deshalb künftig am Fahrradschloss aus Fasern verzweifeln lassen.

Allein in Berlin verschwinden täglich 88 Fahrräder. Kein Wunder, dass Experten dazu raten, fünf bis zehn Prozent der Fahrrad-Kaufsumme in ein hochwertiges Schloss zu investieren. Die Wahl fällt in der Regel auf Rahmen-, Kabel- oder Bügelschloss; so manch ein Drahtesel kommt gar an die Panzerkette. „Solche Fahrradschlösser werden oft als unhandlich und schwer empfunden“, sagt Alexandra Baum, die deshalb gemeinsam mit zwei Mitstreiterinnen das textile Fahrradschloss als leichte und flexible Alternative ans Rad bringen will.

Hochleistungsfaser-Seilschaft: Die Gründerinnen Katja Käseberg, Alexandra Baum und Suse Brand (v.l.n.r.) wollen nicht das Rad, sondern dessen Schloss neu erfinden (Quelle: Texlock)

Hochleistungsfaser-Seilschaft: Die Gründerinnen Katja Käseberg, Alexandra Baum und Suse Brand (v.l.n.r.) wollen nicht das Rad, sondern dessen Schloss neu erfinden (Quelle: Texlock)

Auf den ersten Blick ähnelt das „Texlock“ genannte Schloss einem handelsüblichen Seil, das sich durchaus mit einer Schere und etwas Muße auftrennen lassen sollte. Doch der Eindruck täuscht. Das weltweit zum Patent angemeldete System besteht aus einem Mehrlagengeflecht verschiedenartiger Hochleistungsfasern – und das zeigt mal wieder: Der Zusammenhalt zählt. Denn jede Lage erfüllt eine bestimmte Funktion: Während die obere Faserschicht nur der Optik dient, fungiert eine weitere als Schnittschutz gegen Bolzenschneider und anderes Diebesgerät; eine dritte Schicht sorgt für mechanische Stabilität, während eine weitere Lage wiederum für die Hitzeresistenz zuständig ist.

Nach rund zweijähriger Entwicklungsarbeit ist seit Mitte des Jahres der Prototyp fertig – und bekam prompt eine Nominierung für den Ideenwettbewerb von „futureSAX“, der sächsischen Innovationsplattform. Aktuell testen und optimieren die drei Faserstarterinnen das textile Sicherungsseil und dessen Verschluss. Anfang 2017 soll eine Crowdfunding-Kampagne dann das nötige „Kleingeld“ für die Markteinführung bringen. Und dann heißt es wohl auch bald: Fasern gegen Diebe – Round One, Fight!

+++

In eigener Sache: Unter der neuen Rubrik „Faserstarter“ werden wir künftig Firmen, Menschen und Interessantes aus der textilen Start-up-Szene präsentieren. Das „Silizium-Tal“ kennt ja inzwischen jeder, das „Faser-Tal“ (Fiber Valley) noch nicht.

Ronny Eckert

Über Ronny Eckert

Mehr zu den Autoren

Zeige alle Beiträge von Ronny Eckert

Ein Kommentar
  1. Thedd Heldeis sagt:

    Die bisherigen Produktinformationen wecken zweifelsohne das technische und sicherheitsbezogene Empfinden und Denken.
    Bisher gemachte unternehmensinterne Erfahrungen/Notwendigkeiten und sich daraus entwickelnde Preisvorstellungen sollten zeitnah das Interesse des hierauf bezogenen Fahrradfans unterstützen.

    Ich freue mich auf ein weiterhin gutes Gelingen!

1 Ping
  1. Ein paar Schritte voraus – Techtextil Blog der Messe Frankfurt

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

*