What became of …?
30/10/2018

What became of …?

At Techtextil 2017, a new kind of knitted material made from basalt, which affords protection against underwater fouling on the piling for wind turbines and bridges, took home the ‘Techtextil Innovation Award’ in the ‘New Applications’ category. What became of it? “The Techtextil Innovation Award really pushed the basalt fabric,” says André Niemann, Managing Director [...] Read more...

Mist against thirst
05/09/2018

Mist against thirst

Searing temperatures and a bone dry atmosphere – the summer of 2018 in Europe was intense. There are, however, countries, where drought is normal. Morocco, for instance. Because of climate change, it has now become so hot and dry there that what little water there is has become very scarce indeed. As a result, textile [...] Read more...

Apples to wear as bags
09/08/2018

Apples to wear as bags

Apples can be peeled, chopped, pierced (by an arrow), eaten, drunk, spooned up, thrown, juggled, coloured, hung up, and so on … the list is endless. Most recently, the healthy fruit can also be worn as apple leather bags. The cultural history of the apple is also a history of unfortunate events: Hades gave one [...] Read more...

The Sound of Fibers
27/06/2018

The Sound of Fibers

The whole world knows what silence sounds like because of the song, ‘The Sound of Silence‘, by Simon & Garfunkel. This was a mega hit which made it onto the list of the 500 best songs of all time and into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. But it is not just silence that [...] Read more...

TechTex Equipment for the USA
09/05/2018

TechTex Equipment for the USA

According to the Textile Machinery Division of the VDMA (Association of German Machine and Plant Manufacturers), German textile machine manufacturers exported € 233 millions’ worth of textile machinery and plant to the USA in 2017. They are benefiting from the growing demand for technical textiles worldwide, which are increasingly being manufactured by machines ‘made in [...] Read more...

Dimming down dangers with fibres
11/04/2018

Dimming down dangers with fibres

Biting cold or extreme heat – humans are pretty delicate beings, who want to be protected against rough external impacts. How to minimise dangers posed by such extreme influences by using fibres, will be demonstrated by textile firms at the end of May at Techtextil North America in Atlanta, Georgia, at a special show entitled [...] Read more...

Wind park - source Pixabay

What became of …?

At Techtextil 2017, a new kind of knitted material made from basalt, which affords protection against underwater fouling on the piling for wind turbines and bridges, took home the ‘Techtextil Innovation Award’ in the ‘New Applications’ category. What became of it? Ronny Eckert Read more...

CloudFisher

Mist against thirst

Searing temperatures and a bone dry atmosphere – the summer of 2018 in Europe was intense. There are, however, countries, where drought is normal. Morocco, for instance. Because of climate change, it has now become so hot and dry there that what little water there is has become very scarce indeed. As a result, textile ... Read more...

Quelle: Thammie Cascales on Unsplash

Apples to wear as bags

Apples can be peeled, chopped, pierced (by an arrow), eaten, drunk, spooned up, thrown, juggled, coloured, hung up, and so on … the list is endless. Most recently, the healthy fruit can also be worn as apple leather bags. Ronny Eckert Read more...

Carbobass

The Sound of Fibers

The whole world knows what silence sounds like because of the song, ‘The Sound of Silence‘, by Simon & Garfunkel. This was a mega hit which made it onto the list of the 500 best songs of all time and into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. But it is not just silence that ... Read more...

air-jet weaving machine - source: Dornier

TechTex Equipment for the USA

According to the Textile Machinery Division of the VDMA (Association of German Machine and Plant Manufacturers), German textile machine manufacturers exported € 233 millions’ worth of textile machinery and plant to the USA in 2017. They are benefiting from the growing demand for technical textiles worldwide, which are increasingly being manufactured by machines ‘made in ... Read more...

Brutal man walking under snowstorm at night lighting his way with lantern (source: Milles Studio/Fotolia)

Dimming down dangers with fibres

Biting cold or extreme heat – humans are pretty delicate beings, who want to be protected against rough external impacts. How to minimise dangers posed by such extreme influences by using fibres, will be demonstrated by textile firms at the end of May at Techtextil North America in Atlanta, Georgia, at a special show entitled ... Read more...

Zwisstex Marc Lorch

Interview Marc Lorch

High-tech fibres, future markets and his passion for textiles

Companies from the German textile, textile-machinery and garment-technology industries will be presenting their products in the ‘High-Tex from Germany’ exhibition at the Techtextil North America fair in the USA, which is being held alongside the Texprocess Americas fair. Marc Lorch, member of the board of Zwissler Holding, will be representing the companies in the role ... Read more...

Faserstarter: Exotische Nächte im Würfel
20/12/2018

Faserstarter: Exotische Nächte im Würfel

Fast jeder hat schon mal (mehr oder weniger bequem) im Zelt unter dem Sternenhimmel geschlafen. Wer aber käme auf die Idee, in einem Museum, einem Kino oder gar auf einem Bunker seinen Schlafplatz aufzuschlagen? Das Start-up „sleeperoo“ tut das. „Egal, ob Baumhaus oder Tipi – ich bin ein großer Fan von Erlebnisnächten an ungewöhnlichen Orten“, [...] Weiterlesen...

Was wurde aus…?
30/10/2018

Was wurde aus…?

Auf der Techtextil 2017 heimste ein neuartiges Gestrick aus Basalt als Schutz gegen Unterwasserbewuchs an Windrädern und Brückenpfeilern den „Techtextil Innovation Award“ in der Kategorie „New Application“ ein. Was ist daraus geworden? „Der Innovationspreis der Techtextil hat das Basaltgestrick gepusht“, sagt André Niemann, Geschäftsführer der Peterseim Strickwaren GmbH, die üblicherweise Strickmode aus Kaschmir, Schurwolle, Alpaka [...] Weiterlesen...

Dunst gegen Durst
05/09/2018

Dunst gegen Durst

Krasse Temperaturen und knöcherne Trockenheit – der Sommer 2018 in Europa war heftig. Doch es gibt Länder, da ist Dürre normal. Marokko zum Beispiel. Inzwischen ist es dort wegen des Klimawandels jedoch so heiß und trocken, dass das wenige Wasser knapp wird. Textilnetze „ernten“ deshalb nun Trinkwasser aus Nebel. „Hier hat es seit einem Jahr [...] Weiterlesen...

Apfeltaschen zum Umhängen
09/08/2018

Apfeltaschen zum Umhängen

Äpfel kann man schälen, zerkleinern, (mit dem Pfeil) durchbohren , essen, trinken, löffeln, werfen, jonglieren, anmalen, aufhängen und, und, und. Neuerdings kann man sich das gesunde Obst auch als Apfel(leder)tasche umhängen. Die Kulturgeschichte des Apfels ist auch eine Geschichte von Verlusten: Hades schenkte Persephone einen, um sie ans Totenreich zu binden; als Adam und Eva, [...] Weiterlesen...

The Sound of Fibers
27/06/2018

The Sound of Fibers

Wie Stille klingt, weiß die Welt seit dem Song „The Sound of Silence“ von Simon & Garfunkel. Ein Megahit, der es in die Liste der 500 besten Songs aller Zeiten und in die Rock and Roll Hall of Fame schaffte. Doch nicht nur Stille hat ihren Sound, auch Fasern („Fibers“) klingen. Haben sie das Zeug [...] Weiterlesen...

TechTex-Equipment für die USA
09/05/2018

TechTex-Equipment für die USA

Laut VDMA Fachverband Textilmaschinen haben deutsche Textilmaschinenbauer im Jahr 2017 Maschinen und Anlagen im Wert von 233 Mio. Euro in die USA exportiert. Sie profitieren von der weltweit steigenden Nachfrage nach technischen Textilien, die auch in den USA zunehmend auf Maschinen „made in Germany“ gefertigt werden. „Nordamerika ist einer unserer wichtigsten Märkte“, sagt Jürgen Hanel, [...] Weiterlesen...

Gefahren mit Fasern abmildern
11/04/2018

Gefahren mit Fasern abmildern

Klirrende Kälte oder extreme Hitze – der Mensch ist ein recht zartes Wesen, das vor starken Außeneinwirkungen geschützt sein will. Wie man Gefahren durch solche Extremeinflüsse mittels Fasern minimieren kann, zeigen Textilfirmen Ende Mai auf der Techtextil North America in Atlanta, Georgia, bei der Sonderschau „High-Tex from Germany“. Für ein Wohlfühl-Leben unter arktischen Bedingungen fehlt [...] Weiterlesen...

Source: Klaus Hansen Fotografie: Klaus Hansen Fotografie

Faserstarter: Exotische Nächte im Würfel

Fast jeder hat schon mal (mehr oder weniger bequem) im Zelt unter dem Sternenhimmel geschlafen. Wer aber käme auf die Idee, in einem Museum, einem Kino oder gar auf einem Bunker seinen Schlafplatz aufzuschlagen? Das Start-up „sleeperoo“ tut das. Ronny Eckert Weiterlesen...

Wind park - source Pixabay

Was wurde aus…?

Auf der Techtextil 2017 heimste ein neuartiges Gestrick aus Basalt als Schutz gegen Unterwasserbewuchs an Windrädern und Brückenpfeilern den „Techtextil Innovation Award“ in der Kategorie „New Application“ ein. Was ist daraus geworden? Ronny Eckert Weiterlesen...

CloudFisher

Dunst gegen Durst

Krasse Temperaturen und knöcherne Trockenheit – der Sommer 2018 in Europa war heftig. Doch es gibt Länder, da ist Dürre normal. Marokko zum Beispiel. Inzwischen ist es dort wegen des Klimawandels jedoch so heiß und trocken, dass das wenige Wasser knapp wird. Textilnetze „ernten“ deshalb nun Trinkwasser aus Nebel. Ronny Eckert Weiterlesen...

Quelle: Thammie Cascales on Unsplash

Apfeltaschen zum Umhängen

Äpfel kann man schälen, zerkleinern, (mit dem Pfeil) durchbohren , essen, trinken, löffeln, werfen, jonglieren, anmalen, aufhängen und, und, und. Neuerdings kann man sich das gesunde Obst auch als Apfel(leder)tasche umhängen. Ronny Eckert Weiterlesen...

Carbobass

The Sound of Fibers

Wie Stille klingt, weiß die Welt seit dem Song „The Sound of Silence“ von Simon & Garfunkel. Ein Megahit, der es in die Liste der 500 besten Songs aller Zeiten und in die Rock and Roll Hall of Fame schaffte. Doch nicht nur Stille hat ihren Sound, auch Fasern („Fibers“) klingen. Haben sie das Zeug ... Weiterlesen...

air-jet weaving machine - source: Dornier

TechTex-Equipment für die USA

Laut VDMA Fachverband Textilmaschinen haben deutsche Textilmaschinenbauer im Jahr 2017 Maschinen und Anlagen im Wert von 233 Mio. Euro in die USA exportiert. Sie profitieren von der weltweit steigenden Nachfrage nach technischen Textilien, die auch in den USA zunehmend auf Maschinen „made in Germany“ gefertigt werden. Ronny Eckert Weiterlesen...

Brutal man walking under snowstorm at night lighting his way with lantern (source: Milles Studio/Fotolia)

Gefahren mit Fasern abmildern

Klirrende Kälte oder extreme Hitze – der Mensch ist ein recht zartes Wesen, das vor starken Außeneinwirkungen geschützt sein will. Wie man Gefahren durch solche Extremeinflüsse mittels Fasern minimieren kann, zeigen Textilfirmen Ende Mai auf der Techtextil North America in Atlanta, Georgia, bei der Sonderschau „High-Tex from Germany“. Ronny Eckert Weiterlesen...